It is finished!

Momentous day!

Today marks:
–523 days since first finding the knot on my neck
–506 days since finding out I had cancer
–499 days since arriving back in the U.S.
–469 days since starting cancer treatment
And completion of
–2 biopsies
–1 major surgery
–3 minor surgeries
–8 chemo treatments over 6 months
–30 radiation treatments over 6 weeks
–17 Herceptin infusions over 16 months
–countless CT scans, MRI’s, lab tests, needle sticks, doctors’ appointments, prescriptions filled, trips to Houston and NCIS re-runs watched while recuperating
—16 months of enduring the side effects of being burned, cut and poisoned (even losing my sense of taste for 3 months, losing my ability to swallow for a short time, and enduring extreme fatigue);
—hundreds of people having prayed for me and being the recipient of countless cards and caps to cover my once shiny head (that at one point got down to a mere 17 hairs)
–and most importantly, having been blessed by the hand of the God
It. is. finished.
I just finished my final cancer treatment and rang the bell, my parents by my side! I’m driving to Houston later today and will have surgery there on Monday. The surgery is NOT cancer treatment though, so today really marks the end of treatment. (Surgery will take out my chemo port and clean up scar tissue in my neck–prayers are much appreciated for a good surgery.)
Some people get worried when treatment ends and they are on their own again, but I have a real sense that God is taking care of me. In His hands, I have no fear of the future.
Off to Houston now!
6 thoughts on “It is finished!

  1. Jana C says:

    Oh, to be finished with treatment is wonderful news!!! What a journey you have been on! I hope you have a safe trip to Houston and I will be praying for good results and quick healing after your surgery! Hugs to you today!

    Like

  2. VH says:

    Dear Elizabeth,

    PTL!!!! We rejoice together with you at the end of your cancer treatment – you have made it and God has sustained you and healed you through the many ups and downs – we will continue to pray for your surgery next week in Houston – that all will go well and no complications so you will heal quickly and be back to full health.

    Blessings, Victor

    Unexpected Journey wrote, on 1/22/16, 1:10 AM: > mimimimilalala posted: ” Momentous day! Today marks: –523 days since > first finding the knot on my neck –506 days since finding out I had > cancer –499 days since arriving back in the U.S. –469 days since > starting cancer treatment And completion of –2 biopsies –1 major surge” >

    Like

  3. Elise Semrad says:

    Such a long journey, but a successful one. Now just one more hurdle and it will be a memory. Bless you and your wonderful family who have made this journey with you.Elise

    Like

  4. Leanne says:

    A great day!!!!!! Wow!!! Blessings to you as you are done with treatments. We do pray your final surgery goes well removing the port and scar tissue. yay!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

