When it rains, it pours and your car gets wet

I have never in my life been through such a rain storm as the one I lived through last night. For about seven hours straight, without a break, the lightning popped, the thunder rumbled, and BUCKETS OF RAIN came out of the sky in Houston. It was historic, and deadly, even for rainy Houston. Perhaps you saw it on the news.

My car got flooded and I can’t use it. At first I was just happy that it hadn’t floated down the street, but it is quite the mess. A church will lend me a car in a few days, but for now I am bumming rides to the hospital, calling the insurance company, and wondering where I’ll get the car repaired. I didn’t really need this. I am getting a little weary.

My radiation didn’t start last Friday after all. I got to the hospital and found out it was just another dry run. I was so disappointed. I wanted to get this thing going, only to find out I had to wait until after the long three-day weekend.

Radiation did finally start today. One down, 29 more to go. Radiation doesn’t hurt. It’s a bit like getting an x-ray. But they have to pull my already-hurting right shoulder out at an awkward angle for about 45 minutes and that part brings me excruciating pain.

MY DAD IS HAVING SURGERY TOMORROW MORNING IN TYLER. That would be Wednesday morning, the exact same time that I am having radiation in Houston. Please pray that all will go well for him.

Please then pray that the dark rain clouds hovering over our lives will go away. We need a break from the relentless pounding.

4 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours and your car gets wet

  1. Precious E …. how much you are on my mind …… my own problems / concerns pale in comparison with yours in so many ways. The Lord is STILL on His throne with nothing surprising Him. Everything is history to Him and He is well able to bring us out and into His good and hopeful future He has planned for each new day. Amen Praying always even tho I may not let you know often. Trusting Him for you and your every need. Amen

    Like

  2. Teresa says:

    Praying for your Dad. I hope the surgery goes as expected and that recovery is speedy.

    I have heard the news about the terrible flooding in Houston. Sorry your car was damaged. Glad you were not in it when it happened.

    Praying for sunny days ahead!

    Love,
    Teresa

    Like

Leave a Reply

