Two weeks after surgery

It’s been 2-1/2 weeks since my neck surgery, and I’m still in a lot of pain.

You may remember that the surgeons put a drain tube in my body near my right clavicle that led down to a plastic container that attached to my clothing with a safety pin. They told me to change the gauze and tape dressing on the drain incision every day. But because I have major allergies to medical tape, the bandages made my skin break out in terrible blisters. I eventually had to stop using any bandage over the drain incision, but by the time I stopped, my skin was already severely damaged (still is). This contributes greatly to the pain I have.

The surgeon didn’t give me enough pain medicine to get through this ordeal. I ran out after 10 days and couldn’t get the pain medicine refilled due to a relatively new federal law (complicated to explain). I got a different pain medicine instead, but it had almost no effect on my pain. For about five days my pain was unbearable, and there was nothing I could do about it.

A few days ago I went back to Houston for my post-op appointment with the surgeon. I got more of the good pain medicine while I was there, so I’m in good shape now. The doctor pulled the drain hose out of my right clavicle area, leaving a big hole in my skin. He said the gaping hole didn’t need a bandage and it would heal over in 24 hours (it didn’t).

The right side of my head and neck are still a bit numb and prickly.

As you can imagine, for the past few weeks, I’ve laid in bed or on the sofa writhing in pain and/or popping pain pills, like most people do after a surgery. I figure I have a few more weeks of this. Despite the pain, I have to make several more trips to Houston for other appointments in the coming days.

My mom’s shoulder surgery went well last Tuesday, and my dad is still waiting for his surgery to be scheduled. My brothers have pitched in quite a lot, and we couldn’t have made it through recent weeks without them and others who have helped in our time of need. People have driven for us, cooked meals for us, mowed the grass for us, prayed fervently for us — the list goes on.

The surgeon thinks I may need physical therapy to regain normal use of my shoulder and neck. I think he may be right. I dare not try to drive yet.

Overall, things are good, but there are still plenty of things for which my family needs God’s intervention. Thanks for remembering us.

More news soon ….

3 thoughts on “Two weeks after surgery

  1. Patsy Phillips says:

    “For I know the plans I have for you, “declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11. This verse has been going through my head for many days and you have been there also. Praying for strength and healing for you, my friend.

    Like

  2. Jana C says:

    I am so sorry this has all been so rough. I am praying for you and your family daily. I am so glad the people where you live and your brothers are taking care of all of you. You need it right now!!! Thanks for the update and prayers will continue. I hope you feel a lot better very soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

