Post-op

I was released from the Houston hospital on Friday and I’m back at my parents’ home for recuperation. 

MDA’s awesome pain medicine is wearing off and the pills they gave me to take home are slightly less effective. I am, therefore, in more pain now than I was right after the surgery. 

I have a plastic drain tube coming out of my neck, connected to a large plastic reservoir. I’ll be dealing with this awkward yet helpful device for two weeks; it will be removed during my post-op exam. I doubt I’ll be going into town much in the next two weeks. I need to protect the drain and avoid infection. 

No muscles or nerves were damaged during surgery. I feel better and my neck looks better than I expected. 

So far, the days after surgery are much better than the ones that followed chemo. I feel pretty good. 

The two biggest chunks of my year-long treatment are behind me!

Thanks for the outpouring of love and support towards my family and me. I feel blessed.

7 thoughts on “Post-op

  1. Mana Bailey says:

    FAntarctic news. Thank you, Lord, once again, for answered prayers. Liz, I am so thankful to hear this. Onward and upward.

    When you feel like it, I would love to see you. Let me know when.

    Love you.

    Like

  2. Cindy DeJulio says:

    Thanks for the update. So glad it went well. Prayers continue for you to stay the course and do what needs to be done. When you are feeling better, maybe you would like a vacation in Colorado. I have a bedroom that is waiting for a visitor. Love ya!!

    Like

  3. Kay says:

    So VERY VERY glad it went well. God is good all the time isn’t he? The whole drain thing is weird isn’t it…I imagine you’re having to measure the daily output and report to headquarters. Plus you could go to town and just wear it as a necklace. You’re on the other side of this mountain now Deary and the remaining will pale in comparison. Hope your folks are doing better…know they’re better because you’re better. Take care. – Kay

    Like

Leave a Reply

