Surgery

I will have major surgery on my right neck on Wednesday, April 15th, at MD Anderson in Houston. It is called “neck dissection.” (Hate the name.) They’ll remove all the lymph nodes on the right side of my neck. I’ll come out of it with a big “L” shaped scar.

I asked if they could do a neck lift while they were at it and they said no. (They have no sense of humor.)

It is considered major surgery due to the neck having so many arteries, nerves, etc. It should take about three hours. I won’t know the time of day or building location until the night before it happens.

I won’t be able to update you right away because I’ll be sedated. If you don’t hear something in a timely manner and are concerned, check the comments section of this blog and maybe one of my family members will be able to give an update there.

My dad is going with me. My mom wanted to go, but can’t travel that far without extreme discomfort. Besides that, she’s the only one who likes my dog well enough to watch her for me while I’m gone. (Mimi hasn’t made many friends in America yet, and apparently isn’t trying too hard. She likes my parents though.)

My sister-in-law is driving my dad and me to Houston and back. My brother C is supposed to meet us there too. My brother J and his son N will look after my mom during the week we’ll be gone.

We’re staying with friends in Houston part of the time, and staying in a hotel near the hospital part of the time. I will be staying IN the hospital most of the time. I was told to expect two or three nights in the hospital after surgery. I’ll have a drain and bag hanging off my neck for two weeks after the surgery, and can’t be dismissed from the hospital until the volume collected in the drain reduces to a certain level. I won’t be able to lift more than 10 pounds at a time in the weeks after surgery, so that means I can neither lift my dog Mimi nor my purse. I won’t be able to raise my arm over shoulder height either.

My surgeon, Dr. Ross, is one of the top surgeons in the country. My chief physician, God, is the best in the business. 😉

I finished chemo 4-1/2 weeks ago. The nausea is gone completely and I can now eat anything but broccoli. I feel perfectly fine right now. I probably feel better than many of you do! I think my hair started growing back in the last day or two, which is really helpful since I don’t have any anymore. (I’ll tell you all about my hair some other time.)

Roughly a month after surgery, I’ll start radiation treatment in Houston. This requires me to stay in Houston for six weeks.

Thanks for you interest in my journey, and I sincerely hope you will take some time to pray for my successful surgery, recovery and travel. Your fervent prayers of intercession are the most important thing I can ask for.

May God bless you all!

EAW-4-1-2015

Elizabeth

8 thoughts on “Surgery

  1. Thank you for taking the time to do an update, Elizabeth. I’m so sorry this has happened to you. We will be praying for sure. I’m glad you’re in good hands, though it’s a shame they couldn’t work in that neck lift for you. 😉 Lots of love and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sweet Sis …. will continue to pray and especially now with surgery coming up. The Great Physician sees you and knows where you are in His Kingdom’s work. He provides all you need. Remembering His precious words …. “I am the God of all flesh, is anything too hard for Me?” Your name is lifted up to our Savior continually. Amen

    Like

  3. Patsy Phillips says:

    Wow, what a journey! I will be praying for peace for you and yours, safe travels, and a very uneventful hospital stay. Thanks so much for keeping us posted. Hugs…

    Like

  4. Kay says:

    So glad the nausea is gone and that you are up for the surgery. You are in wonderful hands with or without the doctors, family and friends. The loss of hair and the clear fuz that initially replaces it is crazy stuff. I’ll be thinking and praying for you all day and of course looking for news.

    Like

Leave a Reply

