Chemo is over

I have finished my eight rounds of chemotherapy. My last round was this past Thursday. I am pretty sick from chemo (as usual) and don’t expect to feel human for at least another week. The only thing that makes the nausea bearable is the thought that I won’t have to endure this any more.

I will continue to go to Houston every three weeks between now and October to have a medicine administered to me through my IV port. The medicine is not technically a “chemo” medicine though, so it is not called chemo. But it is given to me at the chemo department by the chemo people, so it will probably feel a lot like chemo. I don’t expect to get sick from this medicine though. I’ve had it four times before and did okay with it.

Now that chemo is officially behind me, the next two big things to be scheduled are surgery and radiation.

Surgery is tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, April 15th. I will have the lymph nodes removed from the right side of my neck during that surgery. It is considered a major surgery.

I’ll write more later. Thanks for thinking of me and praying for me!

2 thoughts on “Chemo is over

  1. Kay says:

    I know you feel crummy now but it will get BETTER from here on out….even surgery and radiation are a cake walk next to chemo. Prayers for you and your family continue in the great beyond………

    Like

Leave a Reply

