The end of a less-than-stellar year

Christmas was quiet, but afterwards, relatives started rolling into town. It has been a hectic week celebrating a late Christmas and the early/mandatory retirement of one of my brothers yesterday. Several relatives left today.

Generally speaking, I feel good for about 4-5 hours a day, then I crash. I require frequent naps. I guess the chemo is silently coursing through my body, busy doing its job, using up my energy. I’m pretty tired after the hectic week that just passed.

Someone will take me to Houston on Thursday, January 1st. My newly retired brother J is supposed to take me, but he’s down with an infection, so who knows what will happen? In my family, we’re forever juggling who is a caregiver and who needs to be a recipient of one. I’ll get there somehow.

I have my next round on chemo on Friday, January 2nd. They’ve warned me that I’ll probably feel a lot worse for the next four rounds of chemo (spread out over 12 weeks). I pray it won’t be as bad as they think.

They also said I’d definitely lose the rest of my hair, although I’ve so far defied the odds and kept most of it for the first four rounds of chemo.

Some things to pray about:

  • Pray that the medicine won’t damage my heart as it accumulates in my body over time. They’ll do an ECG to check my heart before starting chemo on Friday, and will check it periodically to make sure it remains okay.
  • Pray that side effects like nausea, body soreness and hair loss will be minimal, despite what the medical professionals predict. I have two types of nausea medicines at the ready, but they have bad side effects of their own and I’d rather not take them unless absolutely necessary.
  • Pray that when they do a neck ultrasound Friday, the cancer will be hard to find. As in gone.
  • Pray for traveling mercies for me and for whomever takes me.

And if you feel inclined, say a little prayer for my dog Mimi. Her adjustment to America hasn’t been particularly smooth, as in she doesn’t get along with my parents’ 13-year-old poodle at all and tries to charge at her and bite her. I think Mimi has food issues, and is afraid it will get stolen. She’s been an “only dog” for 10 years and doesn’t know how to get along with others. Also, the food here is different and her eating habits have had to change … as did mine.

2014 will not go down as one of the best years of my life, but I come with a heart full of gratitude to God for getting me and my loved ones through it!

5 thoughts on “The end of a less-than-stellar year

  1. Jana Cullers says:

    I have had a dog inside since 2001. We have 2 outside dogs and one of them and my inside dog have not ever gotten along for the last 2+ years! It reminds me of my mother telling me that kids like to fight, it’s just parents who don’t like the kids to fight! My dogs act like kids a couple times a week!!!

    I will be praying for your treatment to be successful, minimal side effects, protection of your organs and good cells in your body, safe travels to and from Houston, and for Mimi’s adjustment! Prayers for your doctor visit tomorrow. Thanks for your sweet example, for all of us, of having such a positive attitude, so much courage, and an amazing faith!!! May you and your family be blessed by your healing in 2015!

    Like

  2. Patsy Phillips says:

    Juggling seems to be an underrated life skill. Wish I had practiced it more when I had the chance. Praying for strength for you all. Wish I were closer and I would take you myself. Hugs, my friend.

    Like

  3. M. C. Bail says:

    Liz, I’m so sorry you are having to go through all this, but im so glad you know that our Lord is holding your hand. That makes a difference. I know that for sure. My prayers for all you need. I love you.

    Like

  4. Karin says:

    Something about illness/hard times seems to suck up all the light from a time period. We’ve only been dealing with hospitals and illness for a month and it’s hard to remember the good from the first 11 months of the year. I can’t fully imagine how a longer health ordeal can take away joy or light. My prayer for you is that you can remember the light from 2014 much more than the hard…and that the hard would one day prove to be beautiful. I love you lady! Hopefully we can visit while you’re stateside and you can meet the two guys in my life 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

